An unexpected development

WUT?

I swear when I went to the pet adoption event I only meant to look.

Sukey has eleventyponies rage and betrayal.

Right now Sukey is closed in the bedroom with a litter box and noms. She’s had a really hard week.

Do you want to see him?

He's huge!

The nice lady from the humane society said he’d been surrendered by a family who couldn’t keep him in their apartment. She also said he was a Maine Coon, but I think that’s become a popular name for a domestic longhair–on the other hand, my best guess is that he’s a good 18 pounds. He has a lovely disposition and has already climbed in my lap for snorgles.

He found the catnip pad right off.

He and Sukey have hissed at each other some but on the whole he’s very calm (she’s not). Tonight Sukey will sleep with me and tomorrow I’ll have them switch places.

His original family called him Rhino but I’ve been trying to find something with more gravitas. He hasn’t let me know what he prefers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An unexpected development

  1. mariser says:

    him is most lovely.
    he’s one very very lucky boy

  2. I’m trying to think of names, and I’ll I’m saying is *awwwwwww*

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    He’s fabulous and wonderful and definitely NOT a Rhino. Congratulations!

    (Sorry, Sukey… you’re the queen, though!)

  4. Laurie says:

    He is huge! And gorgeous! Congratulations on your new addition!!

    I’ll give you one of the same tips I gave LittleMiao with Chun and the Miao Brothers — feed them something yummy on opposite sides of a closed door and they will associate the smell of the other with good things.

  5. pyrit says:

    I’m all choked up heah.

    Raleigh. As in Sir Walter.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    [this is good]

    An Other Cat! Perfect! You had a floofy gray and white hole in your life and there he is!

    His conformation looks absolutely Maine Coon. Along with the size and mellowtude.

    I like Sully. Not Rhino, him’s too pretty for that.

    I hope Sukey doesn’t deafen you both with E E E!

  7. littlemiao says:

    wow, he’s beautifully floofy! and he looks right at home. I hope Sukey approves!

  8. lauowolf says:

    Well he certainly isn’t Rhino, and he certainly is simply gorgeous.
    And you can tell just by looking at him that he is one of those gentle giants.
    I wouldn’t want to say Sukey won’t be able to resist him, but at the very least it’s going to be a struggle for her.
    Congratulations on the lovely boy.

  9. Jaypo says:

    He’s awesomely beautiful and handsome! I’m touched and happy that you’re a two cat household again, you never know when the right nanimal will show up.

    How about….. Reno. Close enough to sound similar, with some panache attached.

  10. LBeeeze says:

    He’s so beautiful. He looks so way laid back. Good for you. Sukey, you’ll come to appreciate him. 😛

  11. Laurie says:

    How old is he? And how are things going today?

  12. Lauri says:

    He looks wonderful! I’ll bet it won’t be long before this handsome young man and Sukey become, if not best buds, at least tolerant of each other. He will just have to bow and scrape a bit to Sukey!

Leave a Reply

