No pictures, but that’s probably a good thing

In honor of Dr. Seuss’s birthday, a childhood memory: once when we were small my dad was cooking us lunch, and said, hey, would you kids like some green eggs and ham? And we said Yes! because in our minds was this:

Comical yet delicious!

Green ham, you see, and fried eggs with a lovely green yolk in the middle of the white. We were, as I recall, quite curious about how Dad would pull off this culinary feat, but we figured he knew what he was doing.

What he did was fry up some ham, which remained disappointingly pink, then scramble some eggs with a drop or two of blue food coloring.

Green scrambled eggs. Picture that, and curse my name for putting such a picture in your brain!

My brother and I refused to eat it. I remember Dad going into the parental chorus of but you said you wanted them and I put in all that work but he admitted years later that yeah, they looked terrible, and he wouldn’t have eaten them either.

This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No pictures, but that’s probably a good thing

  1. Laurie says:

    At least your dad had a sense of whimsy and tried it. My dad would have just dismissed it as silly.

  2. littlemiao says:

    haha! I think that’s marvelous. Not many people have actually had the opportunity to turn down green eggs and ham.

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    I made it for my kids. Turning ham green – well, ham that’s still edible – is very difficult. We all enjoyed it immensely! But that was before Jr arrived. The library had a Dr. Seuss birthday party so we had cake instead. Jr made sure his had green frosting on it.

Leave a Reply

