About this dress

It’s been restored by the National Trust. A better article about Terry and the dress is here–from reading a biography of her and her son, Edward Gordon Craig, who is mentioned at the end of the article, it seems like her life was one of those that are Glamour in the magazines and Bloody Miserable Work on the ground. My opinion of EGC is that he needed smacking, hard and often.

The shiny bits on it? Beetle wings.

The best picture I’ve found is on flickr. It reminds me (the skirt, especially) of this pattern on Knitty.com. (Does everything in the world remind me of knitting? …rather not say…but a Terry colored shawl would be awesome. I probably wouldn’t go with beetle wings for the shiny bits.)

 

This entry was posted in Cool Links. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to About this dress

  1. Jaypo says:

    The beetle-wing part makes my skin crawl. Everything from that period makes my skin crawl, all the hair jewelry and dead organic material shadow-boxes. *shivers*

    But it is lovely, and I know you could find some wool that color.

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    That is truly a glorious (if creepy) dress! Talk about ingenuity – using beetle wings. I wonder how common that was?

  3. aubrey says:

    Oh hell yes.

    I bet the wings brushing against each other sound like the ocean. I read Oscar Wilde’s description and golly, my mind can just BARELY imagine what it must have been like to see her.

Leave a Reply

