Baking season

Haven’t posted a cake for a while, but this looks like a baking-heavy month:

If you stare at it too long the roses start to spin.

The idea for this cake came from here. Next time I’d try a different tip, something with deeper teeth so the “petals” are deeper, and I’d do a first layer of icing that’s either green or yellow–I think there’s too many leaves (Kerry Vincent calls it “decoratoritis”) but I had a good bit of white undercoat to try to cover.

Woof.

Woof. Woof.

At this year’s staff party we had a bingo game and I was asked to donate a baked good as a prize. The other person who donated a baked good was smart enough to say “chocolate cake, next week” but I just went with 2 dozen cupcakes and an open due date. The prize was won by a daughter of a coworker, and since the child was seven we all just felt lucky there was something for her to win that wasn’t a bottle of wine or a burlesque workshop.

I had previously lent this coworker my copy of Hello Cupcake because her husband was making a Death Star cake for her son’s birthday and that book has lots of good decorating tips for people who don’t want to get all Wilton about it, and apparently the daughter fell in love with the pupcakes on the cover, to the point of taking the book to bed with her, so pupcakes are what she wanted for her birthday. Mine are more blobular than the ones in the book, but apparently they did okay at the party–I was told the girls liked the grey dogs because they had more texture, but the boys liked the other ones.

When they came to get the cupcakes they told me that they’d be watching a movie at the party, so I asked “101 Dalmations?” and was told, no, Nausicaa. In my town even the 8 year olds are higher-browed than I am.

Not related to baking: my nephew started Tulane this week, so I knit him a squid bookmark:

All his college friends will think he's really cool now.

This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions, Half-Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baking season

  1. Laurie says:

    I want to cover a cake with roses like that! I’ve done them on individual cupcakes so far, but I love the look of the whole cake covered.

    I think your dogs are great! I have that book, too.

  2. Marie says:

    Lordy, that yellow-frosted cake looks scrumpdeliicious! Can I move back to Athens?

  3. littlemiao says:

    wow, those roses look so intricate. beautiful! and cute pupcakes.

  4. Jaypo says:

    Pupcakes. Adorable! Is it bad that I want to take a bite out of the whole cake…?!

  5. priscilla says:

    How did you do the squid bookmark? Would love a pattern. That’s neat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

