In my secret grim gothic heart

…I want one of these:

sssssssss!

Another fine project idea from Dollar Store Crafts, but apparently Martha Stewart thought of it first. That Martha!

Rambling Digression 1: I’ve been worried about Martha Stewart since she got out of prison–it seems like she abandoned her thrilling insistence on homey uber-glamour in favor of accessible crafts (example, her line of yarn from Lion Brand–“glitter eyelash”! the horror, the horror) but when I was watching the cookie episode of Martha Bakes she recommended cast iron baking sheets, both heavy and not dishwasher safe, and I feel much better now. I don’t actually want to put gold leaf on fresh baked bread but I’m glad to know it can be done, and that there’s instructions out there should the occasion arise. Thanks Martha!

Rambling Digression 2: I think of Gomez and Morticia Addams as the perfect couple: shared interests, shared values, sexual tension! How lovely. They would have a snake wreath on their door but the snakes would be alive.

This entry was posted in Cool Links, Embarrassing Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In my secret grim gothic heart

  1. dollarstorecraftsdotcom says:

    Hahha, gold leaf on fresh bread!! Thanks for linking to DSC – I think I want one of those snake wreaths.

  2. Laurie says:

    I have a friend this would be perfect for. She’s writing an urban fantasy novel about Gorgons (like Medusa) living in modern day San Francisco.

  3. Lauri says:

    I just LOVE this, too, Peg! Isn’t it fun having secret grun gothic hearts?

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    Peg, you’ve said all that can be said. My inner Morticia is pleased. I think I’ll go cut some roses now.

Leave a Reply

