Tripping the light exotic

There are two big yarn buying events here, Stitches in Atlanta in the spring, and the Southeast Animal Fiber Fair in Asheville in the fall. There’s a pretty good yarn shop where I live, and of course there’s the internets, but at Stitches and SAFF you get a chance to fondle things you don’t get at home.

This month was SAFF.

Apparently a tractor show happens at the same time.

Animal fiber includes:

Alpacas

Llamas

Bunnies!

This bunny was being spun. The nice lady sitting with him would pluck a few fibers off his back and draft them onto her yarn. He didn’t seem to mind.

This may explain why there’s no cat yarn.

Bunny yarn is very expensive–$20 will get you enough for a pair of booties–so it was surprising to see this:

As God as my witness, I thought bunnies could swim.

When my friend Elizabeth (that’s her arm) referred to this as a swimsuit, the man whose booth this was in corrected her promptly: no, it’s a “sun suit.” I don’t know what happens when bunny yarn gets wet, but I imagine a bathing suit made of it would soak through and sink to the bottom of the pool.

You're gonna make *what* outta me?

You can make yarn out of dog fur (“chiengora”) but when it gets wet it smells like wet dog.

I got some yarn to play with, but it’s only animal fiber if you call silkworms animals:

Sari ribbons

It’s half-inch strips of sari fabric sewn together. Apparently if you’re a spinner you can twist it into something more yarn-like.

Interesting...

The 100 grams or so I got wasn’t enough to make anything on its own, so I found a ball of something fuzzy in the yarn closet and came up with this:

...and now what do I do with it?

After about six false starts I got the idea of a shawl collar, like you’d have on a winter dress coat. If I were to do it over (but that mohair boucle is impossible to rip back, so no, not happening) I’d make it shorter and wider. It’s okay as a prototype, but I’m not really given to wearing arty things, so I’m not sure if I should flog it on Etsy for a million zlotnys or bury it in the back yard.

Sari ribbons have many loose strings.

Seriously–would you wear it? The sari ribbon is a bit stiff against the neck but the mohair is very warm. If so, PM an address. At the very least it should go to a good home.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Adventures, Embarrassing Confessions, Yarn, Yarn Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tripping the light exotic

  1. Lauri says:

    Your creativity always makes my jaw drop.
    I am not into creative dressing….(honey mustard is about my limit…har!) but that collar is super cool! I will leave it to some more hip person who could do it justice! Teeshirts and jeans just wouldn’t do it!
    Lol at your statement “This might explain why there is no cat yarn.”
    Although Gree loves me to gently work small mats out of her fur…or those tiny seeds that sometimes get stuck if she’s been through deep grass.
    Love the alpaca twins in the first pic!

  2. pegoftilling says:

    Thank’ee! I haven’t tried just playing with some yarnz to see what might come of it before, so the process was worthwhile, but I can’t judge the final product.

    Alpacas are sweet but skittish and not very smart. Did you see the alpaca nuzzling the kitten on CuteOverload?

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Zlotnys it is, I say. Someone will think it’s the most amazing thing EVAR!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    1 million zloty = $327,000.

    So maybe not that much.

  5. Redscylla says:

    I’m betting the alleged “sun suit” is actually lingerie. For the discerning bunny lover.

    Oh! And someday there may be cat yarn. Sippy, who is only a “pet quality” sphynx, grows a wee bit of the absolute softest “wool” on her flanks each winter. Each spring I use some mustache clippers to shear her. Then I bundle the little mound of fluff into an envelope and mail it to my friend Emily who is a spinner & knitter. She theorizes that if Sippy lives another 10 years, she’ll have compiled enough to spin enough yarn to knit a single, baby-sized mitten of infinite softness.

Leave a Reply

