Another cake, and a scarf

All baking done on premises

I try to keep Edward on his Supervisory Monorail Track. Fortunately he does not believe frosting is delicious (silly cat).

It does not spin or play music.

This was a birthday cake for a 2-year-old girl. Her brother got the Very Hungry Caterpillar cake a couple of years ago, but there wasn’t really a theme for her party besides red and white. Her momma remembered having a carousel cake when she was little, and needed just a bit more cake for the party than a regular layer cake, so this is what we came up with.

The cupcakes are held on with bamboo skewers. The animals are animal crackers, and the bars are candy canes with the crook sawed off with a serrated bread knife. For the filling I put Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Jo-Jos through the food processor and mixed them with frosting.

This will be tasty if you eat it with your eyes closed.

In retrospect using the food processor was a bad idea; a coarse bash-up, so you could see the cookie filling, would have been better. If you haven’t tried Candy Cane Jo-Jos they are OMG AWSUM. SRS.

I didn’t need a full batch of cupcakes, so I used the leftover batter to make these:

The cupcake is just there to hold together the candy coating.

These are mini cupcakes, with a dark chocolate Hershey’s kiss stuffed into the center as soon as they came out of the oven, sprinkled with peppermint bark chips, and drizzled with melted white chocolate (I used white chocolate to glue the animals to the candy canes, so I had some on hand).

This morning, instead of doing something more useful, like vacuuming or laundry, I sat down and finished this scarf:

Like a sea creature it is.

This scarf is improvised because I couldn’t follow the pattern (reading comprehension fail, not designer fail). I started with 125 stiches and doubled them three times, which I think makes the outer edge 1,000 stitches but I really don’t want to know. I started it while watching the Met Opera broadcast of Siegfried, so I knew I’d have plenty of knitting to see me through all six hours.

My folks planned to visit before Christmas, so I put up decorations:

Yes that's a wreath bundt pan.

Yes those are balls of yarn.

These are the ornaments Mom made for me, one a year since 1986:

I think this year's ornament will have knitting on it...Mom has dropped hints.

Unfortunately they had to reschedule–to be honest, I wasn’t sure how they would fit it in, with Mom singing in two choirs and the time before Christmas being so short this year.

Dad wants to come down on January 7. Last year, on January 7, my yard looked like this:

In Georgia this shuts everything down for a week.

So we’ll see.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Half-Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another cake, and a scarf

  1. Laurie says:

    That scarf does look like a sea dragon! Lovely work all around at your house today!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Edward is a silly kitty indeed. If there’s butter, my cats will be at it.

    Peppermint Jo-Jos, must go get some next time I have access to a car.

  3. Lauri says:

    Everything looks so nice! The cake looks yummy! Edward has lovely manners!
    We haven’t had anything even resembling a snowstorm yet. I am getting impatient.
    I love the scarf, it looks like those sea slugs (which sound horrible, but they are so awesome and colorful) oh…those are the ones called nudibranchs, I believe.

  4. littlemiao says:

    Beautiful cake with adorable cupcakes! The Miao Brothers would be attacking it for the frosting. Edward is silly indeed! 🙂 He doesn’t know what he’s missing.

Leave a Reply

