More from the cough drops.

1) Fire up those engines!

2) You’ve survived tougher.

3) Seize the day.

4) The show must go on. Or work.

5) You got it in you.

6) Go get it!

7) Tough is your middle name.

8) Elicit a few “wows” today.

I finally found a panel that says A PEP TALK IN EVERY DROP(tm), so apparently that’s the ad campaign here.

I don’t really get #4: The show must go on. Or work. What? could the writers not decide between “on” and “work” so offered both? Or if the show doesn’t go on, you must work?

And #5 and #6: You got it in you. Go get it. They’re next to each other on the wrapper, so…You got it in you? Really? (opens door above belly button) Damn! my keys!

#7: Tough is your middle name. I’m internet-acquainted with a new mama who gave her baby the middle name “Danger”, so I suppose there could be a “Robert Tough Smith” or something–if you didn’t like it you could say “It’s Irish. Pronounced two-hee. Honest.”

#8: Elicit a few wows…that solves the “elicit” mystery, but it’s kind of a weak word, and sounds like “begging for compliments”–she’s just eliciting some wows, but I don’t play that game.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More from the cough drops.

  1. Laurie says:

    I’m thinking #4 means “Or work must go on.” Since many of us aren’t involved in much that is “show”-y.

  2. Lauri says:

    That is so weird.
    I need a cough drop, but don’t have the energy to read all that!

    • pegoftilling says:

      If you’re sick, do you really want a pep talk? “Fire up those engines!” “Geeeeet bent, drop-boy.”

      • Lauri says:

        Ezzzactly! How about something soothing…like “*Pat pat* So sorry you have a cough.”
        Heehee!

      • Lurkertype says:

        Well, exactly. It should say “I hope you feel better soon”, “Do you need a nap?”, “Have a hot beverage”, stuff like that.

        I’d be all “Of course I’ve got it in me, it’s called a cold virus. You’re here to soothe my throat, not make demand about stuff I can’t do in this condition.”

Leave a Reply

