Where have I been?

Edward gives me the nose of accusation

It has been a long time since I posted anything–I want to post a pattern in a bit but thought I should check in with everybody first.

There has been knitting:

Can haz cheezburger and cake

This pattern was published here, a pretty big deal! Knitty is a venerable online knitting magazine.

There were cakes:

The yellow thing is sposed to be a Piper Cub, not a flying banana

A 60th birthday cake, commissioned by the wife of the birthday man; the piano was on their wedding cake.

Usually I might get two big cakes like this a year, but these two came on the same weekend.

Since Christmas I’ve had to have a clothes washer, my laptop, and a tooth fixed. The washer unbalanced off its drive belt, and the laptop needed a new keyboard after cat barf got on it–totally my fault, though, I was trying to get Sukey off the couch before she hurled and aimed her in the wrong direction. The tooth was supposed to need a root canal but really needs an extraction, so that’s fun for the future.

The bad bad thing is that Sukey is in her brave last days, like the Enquirer says–she had a lump taken off the back of her leg just after Thanksgiving, and yesterday the vet found an obstruction in her bowel, so it looks like the tumor has spread. Sukey, of course, is such a vet warrior she had to be stuffed in a net to be examined, and I very much don’t want that to be our last memory of each other. She’s home now, seemingly comfortable enough, with some stool softeners to make things flow past the obstruction, and it’s a snow day today, so I get to spend it with her.

She’s had a very rough sanitary clip and looks a bit silly from the back end, so here’s a prettier picture:

The girl with all the whiskers

Image | This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions, Teh Cats, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where have I been?

  1. Laurie says:

    I’m sorry to hear Sukey isn’t doing well. What a stressful time for you both.
    Your writing on the plane cake is so well done! Mine would not only be uneven, but I’m quite certain I would lose track of the lettering and completely botch up “unlimited visibility” with extra humps and such.

    • pegoftilling says:

      Thanks–I was pretty horrified when I saw all that lettering. Just took a deep breath and dove in. This has been a pretty terrible month, There’s plenty of ways it could be worse, but it’s just been bad.

      • Laurie says:

        I give you sympathy on the dental stuff, too. I’ve had some of that going on. Last thing you need on top of the other things.

  2. Lauri says:

    The cakes are beautiful and I love the knitted cats.
    So sorry about Sukey. It’s so hard when we know their time is coming to an end. 😦

Leave a Reply

