A new hostage to fortune

Untitled by U-EET
Untitled, a photo by U-EET on Flickr.

Thank you for all your kind words about Sukey: I miss her dreadfully. I miss her curled up on the back of the couch, I miss her on the sink demanding drinks, I miss the feel of her bunny-fur.

Apparently, though, I need to be a two-cat household. This sweet creature was at my vet, needing a new home: I just brought her in Friday. Her name is Gypsy and she’s 8 years old, slightly older than Edward.

She likes to talk and while she’s crawled into my lap a couple of times she’s not relaxed enough that I can report on the color of her toebeans yet.

In her first house there were other animals who kept picking on her, and in her second house someone developed an allergy–she has very soft, very fine, floofy floofy fur. When she first came home I put her in the front room, and while she’s ventured out of it a bit, it’s definitely Gypsystan and the rest of the house is Edwardia. There’s been hissing but no poofy tails. I haven’t left them alone with the doors open yet.

 

This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions, Teh Cats, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A new hostage to fortune

  1. Lauri says:

    So beautiful. And such a tribute to Sukey and Sally, that you can’t live without two more kitties in need to fill the spaces left in your heart.
    I am so glad for you and Edward! How does he like this pretty girl?

    • pegoftilling says:

      Edward’s reaction: WUT? and WUT? He’s ventured into the front room a couple of times but hasn’t approached the New Unknown.

      Last night I took out the vaccuum and Gypsy bravely hissed and hid under the couch, so Edward, who is okay with vaccuums but does not like unbalanced washers, was able to give the room and the couch a good sniffover.

      No one’s peed anywhere they shouldn’t. That should be all I ask, really, but I hope we all get comfortable soon.

  2. Marie says:

    Good for you for giving another needy kitty a good home. Gypsy will be good for both you and Edward. Take care! Hug your kitties for me.

  3. Laurie says:

    Congratulations on the new addition! She’s lovely. Here are a couple of acclimation tips, if I may be so bold to offer them. Feed Gypsy and Edward on opposite sides of the same closed door, so they can be aware of each other with no threat (and associate the other with something nice, like food), and also have them spend a bit of time in each other’s space, with the other one not there, so they can sniff around again with no threat/posturing.

    • pegoftilling says:

      Thank you! I’m going to try swapping them out tonight (the front room has the TV, and Edward wants to watch the ice dancing), and I’ll try the door thing tomorrow at treat time–they both have bowls of kibble that they’re eating, but they’re only passing interested in the gushyfuds.

      Edward’s never been interested in people fud but Gypsy certainly is–she is a “nose in your plate” cat.

  4. She is lovely! Welcome, Gypsy! Hopefully she and Edward will warm up to each other. She needs you as much as you need her.

Leave a Reply

