Scary things from history

Untitled by U-EET
Angry bombs
Why is this scary? because it turns atomic bombing into a game. This is from a current exhibit at our special collections library, about living in the atomic age.
I find this scary, too–it’s a book of cutouts to help you plan your bomb shelter, but the way the people are displayed it reminds me of the shadows of Hiroshima. I don’t have a picture of the civil defense guide that advises you, if you’re out on the street when The Bomb hits, that you should lay in the gutter with a newspaper over your face.
This is from the annual women’s history month display. I find this scary because the proper goose is marked with the British broad arrow, which marked prisoner’s uniforms, so this is referring (I think) to the suffragists in prisons. (“Propagander” is pretty clever, though.)
The colors of the womens’ movement were green, white, and purple–the exhibit mixes U. S. and British artifacts, though, so I don’t know if those colors were used in both countries or only in Britain.
There are lots of cat items. I don’t know if it’s cats = cute or women = cats. Some years there’s a Votes for Women teacup on display–it’s one of my favorite things but it’s not out this year.

Whenever I look at things in a museum I always ask, “Could I knit that?” (<–shallow. Whatever.) That shawl on the cat on the left looks easy enough. The cat on the right?

I am familiar with that expression.

Actually Gypsy and Edward are doing pretty well together. Gypsy has no truck with Edward’s RUN AND JUMP style of play, and there’s a bit of hissing when personal spaces intersect, but this morning Gypsy was on the couch and Edward was in my lap, so that was nice.

On Gypsy’s right are my Oscar night projects, Thork and the Cork of Misrule.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scary things from history

  1. Lauri says:

    Gypsy has that perfect tortie disdain. I am so glad they are coming to terms!
    I tried to make a cork Leprechaun. Total fail! I am just starting to learn wool felting, so I felted a wee leprechaun today. He’s a bit fuzzy and befuddled, but I hope to improve the more felting I do! I love that you wonder if you can knit something when you see it. I see patterns on wallpaper and think “ooo, what great scrapbooking paper”…..and now I see actors hairlines on tv and think, I could felt that! Lol.

    • pegoftilling says:

      Is felting hard? I’ve seen so many cute things made that way, but the needles seem scary!

      • Lauri says:

        I might post some pics of my projects if I get brave. I really really just need to practice. It’s not hard at all. The first project I did I poked my fingers and thumb about 12 times. The second and third projects only once or twice. You can wear protective digital wear. I just prefer to poke and continue.
        It’s really fun! And easy!

  2. Laurie says:

    I didn’t know that about the broad arrows on British prison uniforms. I lived for a year in Britain on a military base, in a furnished house, and everything in the house had a broad arrow somewhere on its underside to show that it was the property of Her Majesty’s government..

    • pegoftilling says:

      It is entirely possible that the broad arrows on the prisoners’ uniforms came from Masterpiece Theatre or something like that…the broad arrows are still in use! Wow!

  3. aubrey says:

    The Suffragette lampoons make me twitch a little; especially the prisoner goose one. Reminds me of Holloway Prison and force feeding.

    I remember Rose and Elizabeth and her fellow suffragettes wearing those uniforms on the ‘Upstairs, Downstairs’ episode, “A Special Mischief”. That’s how the men saw it – mere mischief-making!

Leave a Reply

